Chris Bayley Pipes?

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
Irish Terrier
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Chris Bayley Pipes?

Post by Irish Terrier »

Hi everyone, I am new to the forum but have been using this forum for a while for valuable informatin. I have a practice set (Robbie Hughes) really like it, sounds sweet and easy to play. The chanter is what has been discribed as a student chanter, without keys or block mounts.

I have been looking at several makers web sites and as I am in England for the next year or so, I have been thinking of a full set. Chris Bayley seems to be great value? can anyone advice me of his pipes. I don't like the Taylor key system, looks crude!

I have been playing for 8 months and I am self taught (or self learning to be more accurate) from Heather Clarkes fantastic tutor.

Any information will be very much appreciated, thanking you all in advance.

Seamus
Tony
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I used to play pipes about 20 years ago and suddenly abducted by aliens.
Not sure why... but it's 2022 and I'm mysteriously baack...

Post by Tony »

Seamus,
Welcome to C&F!
While I have no experience with Chris' pipes I will say his website is very informative. He has posted to the board a few times. http://www.bagpipeworld.co.uk/
Have you contacted him directly to see his workshop and get to hear his pipes first hand?
Irish Terrier

Chris Bayley Pipes?

Post by Irish Terrier »

Thanks Tony, Chris must have seen my post and had been in touch with me before I got in touch with him. His site seems very informitive and he also seems very willing to help with enquiries. Chris also offered a look round his workshop and some of the pipes he has ready at the moment.

Seamus
sammyd

Post by sammyd »

Irish Terrier,

On your profile it lists your location as Adelaide. Is this Adelaide, Australia?
boyd