building low D: windway question

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
artguy
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

building low D: windway question

Post by artguy »

2 questions:

This is my first attempt at making a whistle and was following some instructions I found on the net.

1.) I'm just about to bend the lip down into the windway but want to know if the sides of the windway (see photo below) should look the way they do or if they should be filed down to be parallel to the top of the windway? It's hard to explain what I mean here so bear with me.

I know you need to file the blade down once it is bent to be thinner than the other "walls" (for lack of a better term) so don't yell at me for that just yet...haven't gotten that far. But should the side walls be parallel to the other 2 at this point or pependicular, like the image shows now. I'm thinking they should be filed down but would rather ask instead of screwing up the whistle before I even attempt to make the 6 holes in the thing, so I apologize if this is a silly question to begin with.

2.) Secondly, let's just suppose I actually finish this whistle and it actually has a decent sound to it--I'd like to polish it up and maintain that newly polished copper look. Any clue on what I could spray it with or something? A type of lacquer?

Any help would be appreciated greatly!

Bob

rbm

Re: building low D: windway question

Post by rbm »

artguy wrote:2 questions:

This is my first attempt at making a whistle and was following some instructions I found on the net.

1.) I'm just about to bend the lip down into the windway but want to know if the sides of the windway (see photo below) should look the way they do or if they should be filed down to be parallel to the top of the windway? It's hard to explain what I mean here so bear with me.