Alternative to Cocus

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Gleo
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am an amateur Irish flute player with an interest in flute making. I would like to connect with other flute players and flute makers.

Alternative to Cocus

Post by Gleo »

Hi everyone. I am relatively new to this forum and I have been playing the Irish flute for three years.
I am interested in an alternative to Cocus wood that has the same chocolate color that would be suitable for flute making. I have looked at East Indian Rosewood which is beautiful and also a "sensitizer" which rules it out for me to consider. I am open to suggestions? Thanks in advance.
dubrosa22
Tell us something.: I'm interested in 19th and early 20th century wooden flutes. And Renaissance flutes. And also techniques for whistles.

Re: Alternative to Cocus

Post by dubrosa22 »

Quite difficult to find but an Australian acacia called Gidgee is a marvellous wood for whistles and flutes.
Oz Whistles and Terry McGee produce instruments in Gidgee.

http://www.mcgee-flutes.com/materials.htm

Vaughan
Last edited by dubrosa22 on Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
'...I want to warn you that playing the flute is impossible for those who have no tongue, for all notes must be led by the tongue; therefore, those of you who take pleasure in playing the flute should guard your tongue against mould, which is to say, drink often.'
- Philibert Jambe der Fer (1556)
Gleo
Tell us something.: I am an amateur Irish flute player with an interest in flute making. I would like to connect with other flute players and flute makers.

Post by Gleo »