Low D: Goldie/MK/Reyburn

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
pancelticpiper
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Playing Scottish and Irish music in California for 45 years.
These days many discussions are migrating to Facebook but I prefer the online chat forum format.

Low D: Goldie/MK/Reyburn

Post by pancelticpiper »

I recently got my first Goldie Low D (yes I know I was very late to the party) and here are some impressions.

Firstly a mea culpa: I have 35 years experience with Overtons, and because Goldies look like Overtons I had made the mistake of imagining that they played like Overtons. Such is not the case, at least comparing this Goldie ("medium") with various Overtons in Low C, D, Eb, and E which I've owned over the years.

I've been playing this Goldie daily, setting aside my other Low Ds, to really get to know it. First impression: There's no flies on it, there's nothing it doesn't do well. It's comfortable in the hands, has even voicing, a strong Bottom D, a civilized 2nd octave, great tuning, great air-efficiency.

Though I no longer own any Overtons I well remember how the ones I've had played and this Goldie is quite different in one regard: the 2nd octave is tuned more like most other Low Ds rather than the flat 2nd octave of the Overtons I've had.

Now after a couple weeks of getting used to the Goldie I hauled out my other Low Ds and did some comparisons.

Air efficiency: from most efficient to least:

Goldie > MK/Reyburn > Dixon (conical all-plastic).

Keep in mind that this Dixon is one of the most air-efficient Low Ds out there, so we're talking rather rarified company.