Kelleher Pipe Bags

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
paintedgreen
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing uilleann pipes for a couple of years and I think this forum is a great learning resource.

Kelleher Pipe Bags

Post by paintedgreen »

From the few reviews I've seen, Kelleher bellows seem to be great. However, I can find nothing on what anyone thinks of the bags. Has anyone had any experience with them?

Thanks
Andy FitzGibbon

Re: Kelleher Pipe Bags

Post by Andy FitzGibbon »

I've got one, and, though my experience is limited, I can say that it is well-made and airtight. Just as nice as their bellows (of which I also have one).

Andy
geoff wooff

Post by geoff wooff »

For the first twenty years of my Pipemaking career I made my own bags ( hand stitched leather) so I have a fair idea of what constitutes a good bag; from the selection of suitable hides to the methods of sewing and use of various sealant recipes... to the principle of sitting on an inflated bag to test for airtighness .

I have been trialing the Kelleher bags for a couple of years now and so far so good. They meet my sit test and need no other sealing ( seasoning) . In fact the Kelleher's say not to use additional seasoning which makes me wonder what happens when the treatment that their leather has been given at the tannery starts to loose its efficacy, if it ever will. I feel that they have not been around long enough to say that airtighness is garanteed for the life of the bag... but maybe that is the life of a bag... when a bag starts to give... replace it. :thumbsup:

Geoff.

PS; The bag I made in 1980 for my own pipes is about ready for the bin... if Kelleher's bags last that long ,and they probably will, then there is little to worry about.
Mogens Hundevad

Post by Mogens Hundevad »

Hi!