What would you do if this walked into your session?

For all instruments -- please read F.A.Q. before posting.
iriSHred
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

What would you do if this walked into your session?

Post by iriSHred »

I've been going back and forth about posting this, but I decided I'd throw it up and let you decide what you think.

For years I've been a rock/heavy metal guitarist and within the past year I've delved into irish trad and now play tinwhistle and, very soon, uilleann pipes.

That said, I've naturally messed around with playing some irish tunes on guitar as well.

While admittedly unorthodox :D , I've managed to take this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ghcn-vypkJI

and turn it into this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ojIHar8yDso

I've learned quite a few other tunes in a similar fashion.

What do you think? Good? Bad? Ugly? I'd like some honest feedback. Thanks!
benhall.1
Tell us something.: I'm a fiddler and, latterly, a fluter. I love the flute. I wish I'd always played it. I love the whistle as well. I'm blessed in having really lovely instruments for all of my musical interests.
Location: Unimportant island off the great mainland of Europe

Re: What would you do if this walked into your session?

Post by benhall.1 »

There's quite a lot that could be said about that, but I'll start the ball rolling with just a comment or two:

Firstly, it depends what you want to do with that sort of music. I think you've got the spirit of the original in your playing, and it's quite impressive. If you're doing that for your own fun, then great. If the question is the one which is in the thread title, then I don't think the instrument is appropriate for a session. I can imagine myself playing in a gigging band with someone playing like that, though.