Chief O'Neill: a novel

For all instruments -- please read F.A.Q. before posting.
Mr.Gumby
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Chief O'Neill: a novel

Post by Mr.Gumby »

As per the thread title. A book by Ronan O Driscoll.

There is a fair bit of promotion going on. Don't know anything about it but there you have it.

See here, for example.

My brain hurts

PB+J
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Re: Chief O'Neill: a novel

Post by PB+J »

I read it and partly enjoyed and partly had a hard time with what he made up. There were actual people who wanted to kill O'Neill: there was no need to make up a villain. But I have a vested interest and come at it for a different place. It was a good read.

https://press.uchicago.edu/ucp/books/bo ... 22232.html.

No cover yet but the jacket will include this: “The Beat Cop is a superb social and cultural study of Irish immigrants and their offspring in late nineteenth- and early twentieth-century Chicago; of the Irish role in policing America’s most corrupt and violent city; and, most importantly, of Chicago police chief Francis O’Neill’s crucial role in promoting Irish traditional music and musicians to create ‘authentic’ Irish identities on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean.”—Kerby Miller, author of Ireland and Irish America
fintano
Tell us something.: Because I play flute and whistle.

With a toot on the flute and a twiddle on the fiddle
Hopping in the middle like a herrin on the griddle
Up, down, hands around and crossing to the wall
Sure hadn't we the gaiety at Phil the Fluter's ball

Post by fintano »

Chief O'Neill was mentioned in the autobiography of Emma Goldman, the noted anarchist (1869-1940). She thought he was a pretty good fellow--for a policeman.
PB+J