Online Academy of Irish Music

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
MattMads
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Online Academy of Irish Music

Post by MattMads »

Does anyone have any experience with the OAIM? I believe the piping lessons are for more intermediate levels of playing. I am new to piping and should have a practice set put together in a few weeks. David Daye chanter, bag and bellows from Seth Hamon. I would like to pursue the whistle along side of piping. We have a great Irish Music school where I live but lessons are on Saturdays and that might be hard for me. I was thinking about OAIM as an option since I can do it on my own time. I don't think that an on line video can take the place of having a real teacher show you how to play but if the timing does not work maybe a video is better than nothing.
What say you?
Matt
PadraigB
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Re: Online Academy of Irish Music

Post by PadraigB »

I've had a look at Mikie's classes on the OAIM site and they are very good, what stands out to me are his teaching of chanter technique and the use of the regs. IMO Mikie's classes on the OAIM site are as per the description, i.e. for an Intermediate level at least(if not advanced).
Cathy Wilde
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by Cathy Wilde »

I would agree with Padraig's assessment of the level. Meanwhile ... OAIM looks pretty neat. I've thought about trying a course or two, esp. since Mikie is a terrific human being and a great teacher; he's as patient as patient gets. Maybe you can arrange a beginner lesson or two with him through the school via Skype?

Meanwhile, if you want to try whistling along for free, go here: http://source.pipers.ie/Gallery.aspx?id=36 Gay, Sean, Conor, Nollaig & c. are pretty good beginner teachers too :-D
Deja Fu: The sense that somewhere, somehow, you've been kicked in the head exactly like this before.
Cathy Wilde