Need your help

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
tomas
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Need your help

Post by tomas »

Hi . I'm new to the pipes. As a musician for the last 20 years this is my ultimate challenge, playing the uilleann pipes. I have a David Daye practise set and after some reed problems I'm now starting to feel confortable with it. My problems are that the second octave is hard to get and maintain and the sound of the chanter is not what I was looking for. Still is a great set, well made and David is a great guy. It's just my personal taste. I need your help because I want a new chanter.
What can you tell me about Kenneth McNicholls pipes/chanters ?

And about this one, could it be Pakistani?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... %26otn%3D2

Best regards and thanks
Mr.Gumby
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Re: Need your help

Post by Mr.Gumby »

If you're fussy about the sound of your pipes, and apparently you are, don't make the same mistake twice and don't buy over the internet/from a catalogue. Actively go out and try instruments by different pipemakers. If one gives you the sound you like, that's the one. Otherwise you'll be entering into a useless exercise.

You may also consider learning a bit further before you decide the pipes are the problem. Buying a different chanter will not change your ability to hold the octave and my guess is your will find your sound will change considerably once you play a bit longer.

What is the sound you like and what don't you like about your present chanter?
My brain hurts

ChristianRo
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by ChristianRo »

Hi Tomas,