The Professional PipeMaker (before he's famous)

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
joey_schu
antispam: No

Post by joey_schu »

Question:

How would a person go about beginning to make uilleann pipes? All these great makers started somewhere, and THAT is where I am. I'm a college music/art student and would love to start dabbling in pipemaking. I'm serious about this, too, though you might laugh.

Apprenticeships? Schools? Where do I go? How did everyone else get started? Do you call up a maker and beg him to let you follow him around?

Thanks,
Joey
Tony
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I used to play pipes about 20 years ago and suddenly abducted by aliens.
Not sure why... but it's 2022 and I'm mysteriously baack...

Post by Tony »

Most of these makers tell of their beginnings in their websites.

Seth Gallagher was already working for a musical instrument maker when he made the switch to Uilleann pipes.

Joe Kennedy, like many pipemakers, did some reverse engineering on a chanter he liked and built drones from plans along w/ help.

Davy Stephenson studied under established maker Peter Hunter.

Andreas Rogge was taught by Matt Kiernan

Bob May an instrument repairman by day does some basic pipemaking as a sideline.
goatpiper
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by goatpiper »

I work for an instrument maker right now making recorders and baroque flutes. I use the shop in my spare time to work on my own stuff. I plan on getting my own shop going at some point, but I'm in no rush. I think one big step would be to get both volumes of the Sean Reid Society Journals, which are published on CDRom. Here's the URL for the SRS http://www.esatclear.ie/~seanreid/
There is so much info on these journals and we are lucky to have access to them. Get them.