piper choice as starter set?

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
seanc
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am primarily a bass player for 30+ years in rock bands. Making an effort to expand my horizons. Currently struggling with concertina. Completely befuddled by Uilleann pipes.

piper choice as starter set?

Post by seanc »

Are these piper's choice UP starter sets worth looking at? As mentioned, i am an absolute beginner here..

for reference:
http://www.celticaffairs.com/piping.htm
Thanks!
sean
marcpipes
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by marcpipes »

Nope! Don't waste the money on these. They a frustrating rubbish at the best of times. For only a bit more, you could get a David Daye penny chanter.
Um....Mom, Dad?......I'm Gaelic.
mayo_piper

daye

Post by mayo_piper »

Here is the link.........http://www.daye1.com/
"A man's only as old as the woman he feels..."

~Groucho Marx
seanc
Tell us something.: I am primarily a bass player for 30+ years in rock bands. Making an effort to expand my horizons. Currently struggling with concertina. Completely befuddled by Uilleann pipes.

how about compared to the boston

Post by seanc »

How do those stack up against the boston pipes?
brianc

Post by brianc »

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

:swear:

:tomato:
misterpatrick

Post by misterpatrick »

If you search you'll find lots of thought on good starter sets. In addition to David Daye, Boston Pipeworks you can also check out Pat Sky who has a budget set that might be what you;re looking for. There are also a few other makers out there making cheaper sets but I have no experience with them.