When did you start playing the Uilleann bagpipes?

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.

When did you start playing the Uilleann bagpipes?

Post by 123454321 »

:-?

So, when did you all start playing this instrument?
Why? Where did you hear (about) them?
Do you play other instruments? :-? :-? :-? :-? :-? :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :) :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :) :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
BigDavy
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Starting Playing

Post by BigDavy »

Hi 123454321

I started playing UPs about 2 years ago after trying to learn the smallpipes.

Reason for learning 1) I like the sound 2) The Uilleann chanter fits my hand structure better than the smallpipe chanter.

I first heard the Uilleann pipes played live in the 1980's when listening to a band called Setanta who had a piper called David Munroe, (you have a lot to answer for Davy).

Other instruments played - percussion (bodhran, djembe, darabuka, udu, talking drum etc).

David
Payday, Piping, Percussion and Poetry- the 4 best Ps
Unseen122
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Of course I'm not a bot; I've been here for years... Apparently that isn't enough to pass muster though!

Post by Unseen122 »

I still have yet to start. If only I had more money...
feadogin

Post by feadogin »

You should know that no one answers this question honestly. :wink:

I say 3 years.
Got my practice set about 15 years ago but they spent a lot of time in the closet until a few years ago.
First heard them in the Bothy Band, first saw them being played by John Tuohy of San Diego.

Why? They sound cool. What else do I play? I've played whistle for about 17 years, I also play fiddle a little but only polkas.

Justine
L42B

Post by L42B »