Vanishing Bass Regulators

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
FlaminGalah
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Based in Australia.

Playing union pipes. I'm not very good at this yet.

Ask me about birds and behaviour.

Vanishing Bass Regulators

Post by FlaminGalah »

I have recently taken notice of a seemingly increasing number of 3/4 sets among excellent players and makers. I'm sure this is not entirely new, but something I only just clocked. But it seems like there are a lot more top pipers and makers sticking with two regulators lately. Martin Preshaw seems to be focussing on making mostly 3/4 sets, Padraig McGovern is playing a 3/4 flat set, I saw a video of Jarlath Henderson performing on a 3/4 set just today. And many other recent videos of less well known, but talented pipers on 3/4 sets. Seems like a bit of a trend.

Now, the obvious point is that bass regulators are the most expensive single part of the instrument and you can get a lot done with 2 regs. But does it go beyond simple savings? Fewer pipers vamping the regs these days so in less need of the third one? Is it driven by makers preferring not to make bass regs when they can avoid it (a sentiment I have definitely heard from makers before).

Have we seen this before in the evolution of the current three-reg full set? You can still get all the bells and whistles if you want them of course, but a lot of the impressive but troublesome: contrabass regs, bass reg extensions, fourth and fifth regs, double chanters - seems to be consigned to the past. Is this another streamlining, removing the most troublesome part of our troublesome instrument?
ChristianRo
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: Vanishing Bass Regulators

Post by ChristianRo »

Valid points. Plus, the bass reg bar adds considerably to the weight of the set and is sometimes a bit awkward to handle.