Flat set makers (for mere mortals)

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
FlaminGalah
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Based in Australia.

Playing union pipes. I'm not very good at this yet.

Ask me about birds and behaviour.

Flat set makers (for mere mortals)

Post by FlaminGalah »

Hello brain trust:

I am curious about your recommendations on makers of flat, full sets of pipes who are: currently making pipes, taking orders with a reasonable wait, and charging fairly normal prices.

Obviously, there are wonderful flat set makers including on this forum who don’t fit this mould, including of course Geoff Wooff (closed books and justifiably high prices- its the dream of course but not open to me now I fear!), or Derrick Gleeson- wonderful pipes at, again, justifiably high prices.

I am curious as to those in the more conventional price tier. Sam Lawrence would be a great option but his books are closed (at least for now). David Goldsworthy is I think only doing flat half sets so far. Brad Angus perhaps, though a bit more expensive it seems.

Rogge is a well regarded option of course. Arie de Keyzer would seem to fit the bill (and I would be very keen to hear thoughts on his pipes, as they seem great value and well made- any thought very welcome).

Anyone else?

Ta.
geoff wooff

Re: Flat set makers (for mere mortals)

Post by geoff wooff »

Can I say that my books are not closed.... they are just not OPEN.
quietpiper

Post by quietpiper »

I would add Joe Kennedy to your list
FlaminGalah
Tell us something.: Based in Australia.

Playing union pipes. I'm not very good at this yet.

Ask me about birds and behaviour.

Post by FlaminGalah »

geoff wooff wrote: Wed Apr 19, 2023 7:03 am Can I say that my books are not closed.... they are just not OPEN.
Aye, but closed to me and my meagre talents. And rightfully so.