Is it possible?

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
rorybbellows
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Is it possible?

Post by rorybbellows »

As mentioned over on the other thread, Leo Rowsome reckoned that It should be possible to play a tune with the bellows disconnected. Anyone out there ever put it to the test and if you have done it, what pitch set and what tune. I'd be skeptical it could be done with a wide bore chanter.
RORY
I'm Spartacus .
FlaminGalah
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Based in Australia.

Playing union pipes. I'm not very good at this yet.

Ask me about birds and behaviour.

Re: Is it possible?

Post by FlaminGalah »

What is “a” tune?

AB?
AABB?
AABBAABB?
ABCDEABCDE? (Yes that’s the Bucks)

The first, AB - yes sure, drones and chanter, esp if it uses nice closed phrasing.

Anything else, and I’d say it’s mythical. Belongs with 7 years this and 7 years that to be a piper.
NicoMoreno
Tell us something.: I just wanted to update my location... 100 characters is a lot and I don't really want to type so much just to edit my profile...

Post by NicoMoreno »

It depends on the size of the bag, I'd guess, as well as how hard the reed is... as well as how fast you're playing :) I'd guess at a relaxed speed, it might take about a minute to get through a tune once. At a faster, dance clip, between 30-45sec. I guess it's possible to play about that long on one bag's worth of air, at least on the 30 second end of the range anyway.
rorybbellows

Post by rorybbellows »

Maybe a deliberate use of hyperbole to encourage pipers to set up their pipes properly.
RORY
I'm Spartacus .
FlaminGalah
Tell us something.: Based in Australia.

Playing union pipes. I'm not very good at this yet.

Ask me about birds and behaviour.

Post by FlaminGalah »