Cape Cod Cloth?

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
FlaminGalah
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Based in Australia.

Playing union pipes. I'm not very good at this yet.

Ask me about birds and behaviour.

Cape Cod Cloth?

Post by FlaminGalah »

For those who use Cape Cod Cloth on brass (which works very well!): do you mask off the ebony? Or just buff right up to it and wipe clean?
MichaelLoos
Tell us something.: I'm here because I just wanted to change my location... but it turns out much more complicated than I thought. Do I already have the 100 required characters?

Re: Cape Cod Cloth?

Post by MichaelLoos »

I generally take everything apart before polishing - if the brass surface needs to be polished you can be quite sure other parts want to be cleaned too, for instance the key slots and the pivot pins.
Mr.Gumby

Post by Mr.Gumby »

I normally polish as is and only take things apart things when I really need to. And clean the metal only when it really needs it. That said, I have been using Renaisance wax on the metal parts after cleaning, on the recommendation of Derrick Gleeson, and that goes a long way towards keeping very long gaps between cleaning.
My brain hurts

PJ
Tell us something.: ......................................................................................................

Post by PJ »

MichaelLoos wrote: Mon Dec 06, 2021 7:40 am I generally take everything apart before polishing - if the brass surface needs to be polished you can be quite sure other parts want to be cleaned too, for instance the key slots and the pivot pins.
It's quite satisfying to do this. I recently acquired a few chanters which I'm currently reeding and cleaning. Removing chanter keys to clean them, I was surprised by the amount of gunk accumulated in the channels cut for the keys and the springs.
PJ
MichaelLoos