Why do regulator pins move?

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
FlaminGalah
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Based in Australia.

Playing union pipes. I'm not very good at this yet.

Ask me about birds and behaviour.

Why do regulator pins move?

Post by FlaminGalah »

I am still with my half set, hoping to get my regs delivered in the next few month, so have been reading a fair bit about tuning.

I understand that the rushes are used to tune each note, by adding thickness to the rush under or just up-wind of the hole in question. What I don’t understand is why the pins need to be able to move in and out rather than being simply attached to the inside of the end caps. It seems to me that pushing the pins in or out wouldn’t have a predictable sharpening or flattening effect on the WHOLE regulator, but just throw the blobs out of alignment with the holes. Surely when tuning “on the fly” (rather than re-blobing the rushes) the point would be that, say, the chanter has gone a bit flat and you want to being the regs down to meet it. That would seem to be a reed seat affair. Meanwhile, if one note goes off but you have blobs under multiple notes, trying to fix it by moving the pin would throw them all off, as opposed to changing just that blob size.

So why do the pins move? Or do they have a more global effect on the whole reg that I am not understanding?
PJ
Tell us something.: ......................................................................................................

Re: Why do regulator pins move?

Post by PJ »

It’s a fair question, and I don’t have an answer. In theory, a good reed shouldn’t need a rush, but in the real world, these reeds are like hens’ teeth. Regulators are often sold by the makers with rushes already installed, like the regs are designed to be rushed. If that’s the case, fine, but it doesn’t explain why the pins need to be pulled out.
PJ
geoff wooff