Contrabass regulators

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
FlaminGalah
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Based in Australia.

Playing union pipes. I'm not very good at this yet.

Ask me about birds and behaviour.

Contrabass regulators

Post by FlaminGalah »

Does anyone have video or sound of a contrabass regulator being played?

I seen many photos of them but they seem to be very rare in actual use, at least in recorded use.

Same for any other nonstandard regs?
Mr.Gumby

Re: Contrabass regulators

Post by Mr.Gumby »

A set was discovered more or less recently that has a bass reg a full octave below the 'normal' bass. Some sound off that one I can tell you (I heard a recording). I don't feel it's up to me to post anything more specific about that.

There are recordings of the 'regular' contrabass ones knockig about though and also of extended bass ones (doown to D an octave below the middle reg) Joe Doyle, Ronnie Wathen play(ed) the odd note on them.Others too but let me think on that one for a bit.

[edited to weed out some typos]
Last edited by Mr.Gumby on Sat Sep 11, 2021 8:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
My brain hurts

myles
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by myles »

https://www.cl.cam.ac.uk/~rja14/music/index.html

Have a listen to the Richard O'Mealy recordings on this page, plenty of low-end honking on those (O'Mealy's reg style is very unlike that of most modern day players)
Vanzetti

Post by Vanzetti »

https://youtu.be/2jI9rYIAQBk

O’Neil Taylor Set, nicely displayed.
RLines
Tell us something.: Uilleann Piper. Gramophone Enthusiast. Piping Art Collector. Co-chair Pibyddion Uilleann Cymru. Board Member NPU.

Post by RLines »

My Taylor set (the Cummings set) has a beautifully made contrabass. Here I play one contrabass note to finish The Bold Trainer O. It’s definitely a handy thing for a bit of a flourish at the end of a tune :P