Reverse staple

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
dmcwhirter
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I’ve been playing the Uilleann pipes since about 2002. Making reeds for various chanters..made a few amateur chanter although I’d only ever try again once I retire..much too much work involved for the craft. Currently relocated to the PNW in 2011.

Reverse staple

Post by dmcwhirter »

Hi all,

I've been to the forum before just lost touch..

A piper acquaintance out in Vermont who's sent me a chanter from the 1930's-1940's (or thereabouts) he asked me to reed. I'm going to give it a go to reed a reverse-style rolled staple in addition to two other reeds I'll be sending back. Has anyone on the forum tried this before with success?

Any suggestions from any pipemaker's would be really appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Daryl Mc.
"I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work."

- Thomas Edison
rorybbellows
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Re: Reverse staple

Post by rorybbellows »

For what reason are you considering using a reverse taper staple.
RORY
I'm Spartacus .
uillmann

Post by uillmann »

Ask Nick Whitmer. I bet he knows something.
Steampacket
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Steampacket »

Have you done a search Daryl, here on the uilleann forum, for "reverse or inverted staple"?

For example:

"Patsy Brown chanters on eBay" thread" - Kevin Rietmann wrote on C&F, Friday, Nov. 14, 2003 :