Hi, I would like to introduce myself and my 3D-printed flute

Oxymorons "R" Us
Forum rules
Please see forum announcement for description and rules!
starlight
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Hi. I have made a 3D printed flute and would like to share my results, and hopefully get some advice on the next steps I might take.

Hi, I would like to introduce myself and my 3D-printed flute

Post by starlight »

Greetings, I am new here and would like to show you my 3D printed flute. For hole placement, it uses a machine-intelligence particle-swarm optimization with fit-formulae from C.J.Nederveen's Acoustical Aspects of Woodwind Instruments. Right now, I am at what I consider version "1.0" of my flute. It sounds good to me and blows in tune when I play - but I am also an amateur player and hope to get some critical feedback on my flutes so I can improve. :)

Sedi
Tell us something.: Practice, practice, practice. You're never too old to learn.
Keep on fluting.
---u---o-o-o--o-o-o--
-----------------------

Re: Hi, I would like to introduce myself and my 3D-printed f

Post by Sedi »

Pretty cool! I like DIY flutes. I make them myself from aluminium tube. Fairly easy to do and sounds great. What's the stopper position on yours? Is it a cylindrical bore? How thick is the wall? What's the inner diameter? What material did you use?
starlight
Tell us something.: Hi. I have made a 3D printed flute and would like to share my results, and hopefully get some advice on the next steps I might take.

Post by starlight »