Any recording tricks for flutes and other wind instruments?

Oxymorons "R" Us
Forum rules
Please see forum announcement for description and rules!
AmyJ23
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a musician and I've been wanting to add the flute for sound layering and textures in my music. I've tried using midi keyboard programs to get the sound but they just sound fake. So I want to learn from people who specialize in wind pipes, etc. on how they record and what other things I should use.

Thanks!

Any recording tricks for flutes and other wind instruments?

Post by AmyJ23 »

I've tried sampling but I just couldn't get the right tone and clarity that I want to hear. It just sounds fake for me. I know how to play flute so I'm planning to just record the the track on my own. Any suggestion on how to best do it? Like the distance of the mic and how the room should be?

Thank you all in advance! :thumbsup:
fatmac
Tell us something.: Kickbiker - at over 70!
:lol:

Re: Any recording tricks for flutes and other wind instrumen

Post by fatmac »

I mostly record harmonica, some ukulele, occasionally whistle for various forums, & what I use is a Samson USB mic plugged into my computer, on which I use Audacity software, & nearly always have the mic 12"~18" away from me & whichever instrument I'm using.

Regarding the room you use, normally it wants to have soft furnishings, I use my bedroom, if you use the bathroom, you will get a kind of reverb sound.
Keith.
Trying to do justice to my various musical instruments.
flyingparchment
Tell us something.: i have an unhealthy obsession with flutes and thought i should try to find some other people to share my problems with! (i play a TJ Boehm-system flute and an M&E 6-key simple system flute i've just acquired, hence the interest in C&F.)

Post by flyingparchment »