recreating cylinder recordings

Oxymorons "R" Us
Forum rules
Please see forum announcement for description and rules!
PB+J
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

recreating cylinder recordings

Post by PB+J »

It occurs to me that it ought to be fairly easy to produce better sounding recordings from early cylinder recordings of people like Patsy Touhey. There are multiple recordings of him playing--most of them sound pretty terrible, though they're great as a historical record, they're lousy as an aural experience. It ought to be fairly straightforward to map a sampled pipe set onto Touhey's notes

For those that don't know this is done all the time in modern recording. A drummer will come in and play a set of drums, and then the producer will take a set of pre-recorded drum sounds and "map" them onto the existing drum sounds, replacing them. It's done with virtually all instruments now, routinely with drums, commonly with other instruments.

Touhey's pipes still exist. It would be relatively easy to sample the sounds of them--each note, the drones, the regulators--and to sample cuts taps, crans, pitch bends. Then you could map those sampled sounds onto the existing recordings. It would of course not be the same: it would be somewhat like that movie, "they shall not grow old," which mapped colors onto black and white images and "interpolated" images where no actual frames of film existed. It would not be Touhey, but then the cylinder recordings aren't Touhey either: they're impressions in wax with a much more limited frequency response than Touhey actually produced in the room when they were recorded. You could argue that doing what I'm describing would actually be closer to the real thing.