Electronic whistle?

Oxymorons "R" Us
Forum rules
Please see forum announcement for description and rules!
PB+J
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Electronic whistle?

Post by PB+J »

This is probably a long shot, but has anyone ever come up with a silent practice electronic whistle? I’m on a week long family reunion and even a muted whistle tends to be loud enough to annoy somebody. I have a parks whistle with the adjustable ring and if it’s quiet enough to not be annoying it gets to be unplayable in the second octave.

The cyberwhistle was a cool idea, because it could sense half holing and slides, and jump an octave with blowing pressure. But it was developed twenty years ago and never seems to have come into any kind of commercial production. There’s not quite enough info online for me to imagine diy-ing a version myself.

Any suggestions?
Last edited by PB+J on Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reeldin58
Tell us something.: My wife bought me a cheap Waltons whistle as a little "Stocking Filler" Christmas 2015. Almost two and a half years on I now own something like 20 whistles. I don't claim to be a good player but it does make me happy. I was 58 years old when I started hence the username (Also my YouTube channel). I would like to share views with like-minded players.

Re: Electronic whistle?

Post by Reeldin58 »