Wide bore recorder?

A place for players of other folk/world music wind instruments.
AimlessWanderer
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Wide bore recorder?

Post by AimlessWanderer »

Hello guys and gals, new player on the scene..:), new to instruments in general so i don't know much of anything yet.
Right now i own a set of Aulos recorders which i'm enjoying, but i'd like to try playing a wide bore recorder for the stronger low notes.

I've read that the wide bore recorder is weak on the high notes (mainly the Alto i think?) and that's what i came to ask you knowledgeable players about.
What i need to know is this, which is the best all around recorder of this kind? I have been looking at the Susato recorders mainly, are these worth it?

Ah and i'm looking for an alto right now.

Thanks in advance guys.
Kypfer
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Re: Wide bore recorder?

Post by Kypfer »

FWIW, I have limited experience with a wide-bore recorder, but my experience with a plastic descant "Adri's Dream" reflects the review on this page http://www.elidatrading.co.uk/mollenhauer.htm , it's not so much weak above G in the second octave, but needs very critical thumb-placement to hit the high notes reliably. Probably moreso a characteristic of a wide-bore instrument in general rather than a problem with this specific design. A good reason to "try before you buy", if possible, if you really need those higher notes.
"I'm playing all the right notes—but not necessarily in the right order."
AimlessWanderer

Post by AimlessWanderer »

Wish i could test before buying.., but no such luck in this area.
Best thing i can do is look for opinions and hope for the best ;)

Appreciate the link pal, and thank you.
MTGuru
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by MTGuru »

Hi Aimless, welcome.