Hybrid instrument questions

A place for players of other folk/world music wind instruments.
Thinker
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Hybrid instrument questions

Post by Thinker »

All,

I'm interested in modifying a musical instrument but I have no experience with this sort of thing. There are some issues that it sounds like people here might be able to explain, and it may even be possible that what I have in mind has already been tried by some here.

Because of some medical problems, I have enough difficulty with both blowhole and reeds that I'll probably never be able to master them (blowholes in particular). And as far as the brasses are concerned, not in this lifetime. Still, I like the versatility that's possible with some of the mainstream woodwinds. I figure that I might be able to accomplish enough to satisfy me by attaching a fipple mouthpiece to another instrument (I know this idea has come up before). The biggest problem here seems to be acquiring fipple mouthpieces. It looks like there's no one that sells them separate from the whistle, and the various brands of whistle don't tell you what the diameter of the pipe at the mouthpiece end is. So how does one acquire the right fipple mouthpiece aside from buying a dozen or so whistles until you're lucky enough to hit on one of the right size?