Is Bawu Flute Hard to Learn to Play?

A place for players of other folk/world music wind instruments.
BobbieCB
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I mainly play folk flutes -- ocarinas, recorders, tin whistles, and the like, though I used to play sax.

Is Bawu Flute Hard to Learn to Play?

Post by BobbieCB »

I was wondering how hard the bawu is to learn to play?

I'm well experienced with fipple flutes (recorder, ocarina, tin whistle, etc).

But I have no experience with the standard transverse concert flute, so I haven't learned the embouchure for transverse edge-blown flutes.

Is the Bawu a little easier than edge-blown transverse due to the reed inside?

Thanks for your advice.
Tonehole
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Re: Is Bawu Flute Hard to Learn to Play?

Post by Tonehole »

It's much easier Bobbie.

There is no need for any embouchure technique in the bawu instrument - which is not a flute despite being flute shaped.
The bawu is a single reed instrument - same style of reeds as harmonicas. Any minimum pressure will activate the reed so even a child can play it. It is a folk instrument and for all folk.

The traverse flute with the edge blowing takes more skill. Children have little blowing aids shaped in a funnel to teach them how to blow it into these. You will find the bawu easy. It has a 1 octave and 1 note range which is very limiting. There are later modifications to extend this to 1 octave and a major third. It's still very limited - the tone is dependent on the reed and does not possess the rich overtones and nuances of the traverse flute.
BobbieCB
Tell us something.: I mainly play folk flutes -- ocarinas, recorders, tin whistles, and the like, though I used to play sax.

Post by BobbieCB »

Thanks for your reply, @tonehole.

I bought a bawu and am having fun learning it. Just as you said, the embouchure is easy.... no problem.

Thanks again!
Tonehole

Post by Tonehole »