Can you tell me about this Küng recorder

A place for players of other folk/world music wind instruments.
Misfit-45
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am interested in learning more about recorders. I have been playing for many years. I would call myself an intermediate player.

Can you tell me about this Küng recorder

Post by Misfit-45 »

Hi Folks,
I'm new to the forum. I've been playing the soprano recorder for many years. My question revolves around a Küng recorder I purchased used a few years back. I don't know how old it is, and I can't find it online.

It's a Küng Masterpiece 607 Made in Switzerland.

1. How old is it?

2. What do I have here? Can anyone tell me more about it? The Küng has a little more "husky" sound than my sweet sounding Moeck 229 in maple, and it does very well on the low "C", i.e. it has more power than the Moeck. The wood is heavily grained and looks like a Rosewood of some kind. The Küng is in need of a little repair. The cork needs to be replaced and it could use some "voicing" work.

3. Is there a difference between voicing a recorder and tuning a recorder? (other than sliding the head in or out)

4. Is there anyone who does that kind of work this side of the Atlantic?

5. Is it worth putting money into an older recorder that may only be a "student" model?
(Don't know why it cut off the end of the picture)

Peter Duggan
Tell us something.: I'm not registering, I'm trying to edit my profile! The field “Tell us something.” is too short, a minimum of 100 characters is required.

Re: Can you tell me about this Küng recorder

Post by Peter Duggan »

Misfit-45 wrote:1. How old is it?
It's a style that Küng made over many years.
3. Is there a difference between voicing a recorder and tuning a recorder? (other than sliding the head in or out)