newb

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Randal
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

newb

Post by Randal »

Greetings-

I'm a 52 y.o. stay-at-home dad in Missoula, Montana USA

Started playing sax in school band at 9, guitar at 11 and classical/flamenco study for the ensuing ~35 years; dabbled with most of the stringed instruments over the years and played in bands ranging from salsa to reggae to trad scandi to bluegrass (also "paid my dues" playing drums in bar blues/rock bands...which did finally assuage my inner rock star :party: ); became totally enamoured with "world" music and Shakti and Oregon as a teen-ager in mid-late 1970s...which led to being a hardcore jazz devotee for the rest of my years...

...until about 10 years ago, when some sanity did prevail and I settled down with wife/kids...and folk music. I started playing fiddle a bit more seriously (after dabbling with it for about 10 years)...which then led to lots of American "old-time" and trad music...and playing tunes on anglo concertina, a bit of 4ths-apart melodeon, the mandolins of course, and some hammered dulcimer/harp, etc...whatever sounds good--been playing O'Carolan tunes on hammered dulcimer for 25 years...nearly acquired a clarsach just to play O'Carolan...

I finally disposed of my metal Boehm flute yesterday--with which I'd been shedding thinking I could assuage all my crazy musical ambitions--and acquired my first wooden flute

I've searched for "maintenance" tips but have yet to find any. Granted, it's a simple flute, but...how does one swab this? :oops:

Thanks, Randal
an seanduine

Re: newb

Post by an seanduine »