Ward Liverpool, Any ideas?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
matinmidiswa
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Ward Liverpool, Any ideas?

Post by matinmidiswa »

Hi there,

I've come across this flute. It's stamped Ward Liverpool. I'm no expert on flutes of this period so am hoping someone out there can give me further info. Any ideas on age / value?

Any help appreciated
Máirt

matinmidiswa

Re: Ward Liverpool, Any ideas?

Post by matinmidiswa »

Maybe try this...
Terry McGee
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Terry McGee »

Roger J. Ward, woodwinds and brass, Liverpool 1848-1931. If you have any address info, we can narrow that down.

Also found:
In 1803 Roger J.Ward opened a musical instrument shop in Liverpool in which he
sold the brass band instruments fashioned by hand. Some 67 years later(1870),
his son Richard Joseph Ward had acquired the business and,with his sons, had
established a flourishing shop and factory at 10 and 12 St Anne Street Liverpool.
By 1905 the firm, although still advertising itself as 'Military Band Instrument
Manufacturers' had added banjos and mandolins to the instruments they made and
sold. Their smooth-arm banjos had ornately engraved nickel silver encased hoops,
with the neck and perchpoles made of solid ebony, highly polished. The fingerboards
were made of richly engraved nickel sliver. Some of the banjos were made with
hoops as large as 16” and all were fitted with pegs of the push in type
made of ivory. It is possible the banjos made by R.J.Ward and sons of Liverpool
were made individually by a lone workman for your author has seen an instrument
marked made for B.Chamberlain by R.J. Ward & sons Liverpool' The firm closed
down about 1931 but is believed they ceased making bajos some years before this
date.
hand note -surely 'made BY B Chamberlain FOR R.J.Ward?

Terry
kenny

Post by kenny »