Delrin or Wood?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
morgan

Delrin or Wood?

Post by morgan »

I have a chance to get a Copley and Boegli in delrin or blackwood.

I am prepared to be very nice to the flute, not leave it in hot cars, feed it yummy oil, etc, but do not want to worry constantly about the wood.

Is the supposed benefit of wood enough to offset the extra care?

What say all of ye?
Denny
antispam: No

Post by Denny »

blackwood doesn't require a lot of maintenance.

Ya don't want to leave it out in the rain, drop it on concrete, beat the cat with it

Delrin on the other hand!
Aanvil

Post by Aanvil »

My cat prefers to be beat with cocus.

Go for the blackwood!

You won't be able to play it in the shower or while kayaking though.
Aanvil

-------------------------------------------------

I am not an expert
morgan

Post by morgan »

What about weather swings? I live in the blessed Midwest and we get temperatures from -20 to +100 F, and humidity from 0% to 100%. And all in the same afternoon, sitting under the same tree.
Gordon
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by Gordon »

If you plan on being nice to your flute, there's no physical reason to avoid wood. Blackwood flutes, in particular, are extremely easy to take care of. Delrin is generally less expensive, so there mighty be your reasoning. Delrin feels differently than wood in your hands, which may affect the way you play, and most of us think or imagine that they sound a bit different, too, but there's no clear proof of that, either way. Personally, I much prefer wood, for a variety of rational and irrational reasons, but I've come to accept that a well-made Delrin flute might, in fact, be a good flute, too. So, if you're worried about extreme temp changes, go with Delrin. It certainly won't crack.
Aanvil

Post by Aanvil »

I've got a cracking good Delrin Pratten.

People won't be able to tell the difference sound wise from wood.