Blowingtechnique, pros and cons

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Axeman

Blowingtechnique, pros and cons

Post by Axeman »

Hi.
I've been thinking about the blowingtechnique I'm using. At first, when I started playing I used to tongue the notes, probably since I'm originally a saxophone player. I then found out that the "proper" way to do it was not to tongue the notes but to use more like a deep "Ha" from the stomach region to produce the notes. I tried this for quite some time. However, I soon found that I liked the sound of my flute better when I was tongueing the notes so I switched back to tongueing again.
What I would like to know is if there are any real benefits when using the not-tongueing technique? I didn't think it was easier, or harder, not to tongue the notes than to tongue them.
Are there any reasons to give the Ha-technique another go? If not I'll stick with the way I'm playing now.

Any advice would be appreciated.
crookedtune
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by crookedtune »

Diaphragm, throat (glottal stops) and tongue are all contributors to good technique and should be used in whatever mix comes to define your own style.
Charlie Gravel

“I am so clever that sometimes I don't understand a single word of what I am saying.”
― Oscar Wilde
TheSpoonMan
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by TheSpoonMan »

Also, the tendency in Irish music is to tongue as little as possible... seperate the notes with ornaments instead. Doesn't mean tonguing's bad, but I think it's worth it to know how to play every tune you know at least decently without tonguing at all.
BrendanB

Post by BrendanB »