Stolen Instruments: How to Possibly Prevent It

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Brazenkane
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Stolen Instruments: How to Possibly Prevent It

Post by Brazenkane »

I'm a professional musician w/ thousands of dollars worth of gear. NO! I'm not gonna tell you where I live :-) Then I'd have to kill ye!

I have always been one to go to great lengths to keep my instruments mine. I never EVER leave my instruments in my vehicle (read that one again). Where I live, the law allows my rear, and side rear windows to be tinted xtra dark. So, if I do leave speakers in there, which are replaceable..most likely one couldn't even look in and see what they were.

Once in a hotel, I was worried about my concertina. I had no idea where to hide it, until I opened the closet and saw a wee safe....barely. I took the tina of it's box and in the safe it went. Be creative!

We keep our storm doors closed on the outside sliding glass doors when we leave to insure no one comes in. Sliding glass doors btw, are very easy to defeat. Look into making them and outher sliding windows more secure. I purchased musician's insurance (1800-VIVALDI).

I have read so many sad internet watch ads about stolen instruments. I'm wondering if some of this is careless, forgetfulness, or just plain sh*t luck? Obviously, there's no way around the latter of the 3.

Most makers I've dealt w/, having known there was a theft, bring the victim to the top of their list so they can get an instrument ASAP. I think this is the righteous and kind thing to do. You should have insurance to cover the expense as well.

When traveling in airports, my soft case, which holds pipes, tina, and flute, NEVER leaves my side. When I put it down, there is a shoulder strap that I clip to my belt (from the gig bag itself). If someone is going to run with it, they're in for some added weight (and a choke-hold).