Symptoms of Blackwood allergy?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
carrie

Symptoms of Blackwood allergy?

Post by carrie »

I've checked previous threads about allergies to Blackwood flutes, but I was just wondering how the allergies tend to manifest. I've been playing my Blackwood flute for 20 years (yikes, I really should be better at it by now), but out of nowhere a few weeks ago after a practice session my bottom lip was bright red and a little swollen, and then a burning feeling set in. I put the flute aside for a few days (the feeling didn't go away) and when I picked it up again the intensity worsened, and after about a week I had blisters on my lower lip. Does that sound like a typical allergic reaction? Also, once you have such a reaction, how long does it take to go away? My dermatologist, who thinks toothpaste is more likely the irritant, gave me some ointments for it, and it is improving but is nowhere near back to normal. I haven't played any wind instrument at all since then. Even the whistle seems to irritate my lips, I assume because they are not healed yet. I haven't changed my toothpaste—all that's different is that I haven't played any wind instruments and I've used the hydrocortisone ointment; I start a different one next week). So I guess I am wondering if it is the Blackwood or if the symptoms would suggest something else. I would not take any comments as medical advice, btw. Just wondering about others' experiences. Thanks!
/cf
an seanduine
antispam: No

Re: Symptoms of Blackwood allergy?

Post by an seanduine »

I use these on my cocus, and my Blackwood flutes. Flute Lip Plate Shields. I get mine from Sweetwater, but they're available on Amazon. Easy to clean and sterilize (in case it is a cold or cold sore virus). Reduces contact with the flute. YMMV.

Bob
Not everything you can count, counts. And not everything that counts, can be counted

The Expert's Mind has few possibilities.