Beginner flute upgrade: Galeon or Copley?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
SimpleWhistler
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Love music, especially ITM. Beginner musician. Play tin whistle. "Own" a low whistle, flute, and fiddle. Hoping to learn all of them. My dream come true would be to learn uilleann pipes!

Beginner flute upgrade: Galeon or Copley?

Post by SimpleWhistler »

I'm a beginner whistle player (about 3 years). I have a Tony Dixon flute/low whistle combo (TB022 I think) that I also enjoy playing. I'm wondering what suggestions you might have for a flute upgrade. I'm considering delrin flutes since I don't think I can justify one made from wood.

My questions are -

1) Will I notice much difference going from the Dixon to something like a Copley or Galeon?

2) I have pretty average size hands and don't have trouble reaching the holes on the Dixon. Does anyone have experience with the Galeon Firth Pond & Co flute? I was considering that over the Pratten due to the hole size.

3) I'm leaning toward the Galeon due to the fact I'm just a beginner and the price difference. It looks like there is quite a jump in price to a delrin Copley with a tuning slide. Possibly due to where they are made and the materials (silver tuning slide vs brass).

4) Do you recommend a flute with a tuning slide for a beginner?

5) Also, the delrin Copley looks like it could be a Pratten style? They appear to be a different design from their wood flutes but I'm not sure.

6) Last, can anyone share their experience with either the Galeon and the Copley delrin flutes?

Thanks in advance!
est
Tell us something.: Kind of a beginner with a keyless flute and an antique wooden flute with keys. Used to play accordion back some time ago, but trying to focus on the flute, until I can get some degree of command over it.

Re: Beginner flute upgrade: Galeon or Copley?

Post by est »