What's the point of the short F natural key?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Cyberknight
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I live in the Boston area and like to play in sessions. I've played whistle for 10+ years and flute for 6 months.

What's the point of the short F natural key?

Post by Cyberknight »

Hello all! I'm new to the Irish flute and do not own one with keys.

I have never found any explanation as to why the short F natural key exists. When you look up explanations online, people usually say that the reason for having two F natural keys is that it makes it easier to slur between D and F natural. Okay, that makes sense...as an explanation for why you would need the LONG F natural key. But why do people get flutes that ALSO have a short F natural key? Isn't that completely redundant? The short key seems like a more awkward, harder-to-use key that accomplishes the same thing that the long key already does.

In what situation would one ever need to use a short F natural key rather than the long one?

Another, related question: Why have any F natural keys at all? Why not just drill an extra hole beneath the flute that is covered by the right thumb, which one can lift to turn an E into an F natural? Ukranian Sopilkas and Russian Svirels do this (as do some fifes, apparently). So why not do the same on a flute, and not bother with any F keys at all? It doesn't seem like this would make the flute any more difficult to play, and it would save a lot of money.

I know there must be a logical answer to these questions, but it really seems that the keyed Irish flute is unnecessarily overengineered.
tstermitz

Re: What's the point of the short F natural key?

Post by tstermitz »

Historically, the short F came before they added the long F. It might have something to do with F-natural fingerings (XXX XOX?) from the baroque one-key flute, but I'm not sure about that.