four month old flute cracks

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
PB+J
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

four month old flute cracks

Post by PB+J »

I got an Olwell keyless in October, after ordering it 15 months before. I love the flute, it's a real joy to play, but just now I noticed this alarming crack in the center section

The flute is kept in a pelican case with two digital hygrometers monitoring the humidity level, and it's never dropped below 60%.

I guess they can repair it--I emailed the shop today. This is why I hesitated to buy a wooden flute in the first place. It cracked in less than four months!

cac
Tell us something.: Simple system wooden flutes, keyed and keyless. xxxxxx xxxxxx xxxxxx xxxxxx xxxxxx xxxxxx xxxxxx xxxxxx

Re: four month old flute cracks

Post by cac »

That's very sad and it shouldn't have happened. I wonder if the hygrometers are not accurate. You should put them in the open and see if they register the drop in humidity. If they don't then they are defective. The best place to buy a hygrometer is at a store that sells expensive cigars. Get a couple and expect to pay
$20 or so each. I use a large tupperware container where there is space for air to move around in and keep the humidity at 60% with pieces of clementine peel. I've never heard of an Olwell flute cracking. Perhaps the wood was defective and the defect wasn't visible. I don't know if it helps, but I always put oil on the outside body of my flutes when I oil the bore. I've had my flutes for quite a few years and live in Canada where the indoor humidity in the winter frequently goes down to 20. Never a problem. Chet
PB+J