Blackwood flute bitter taste

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Henricus
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing a blackwood flute for a few years now, and have a question about it that I can't find answered in any existing posts.

Blackwood flute bitter taste

Post by Henricus »

I've been playing a blackwood flute for about 4 years now, and I love it to bits. However, for the last year or so, on and off, I've had a bit of a problem in the form of a bitter taste, and a slight numbness, that develops on the tip of my tongue. It's difficult to be sure, but it seems to originate from the bore, when air is taken in via the embouchure hole for the in-breaths. It doesn't seem to register immediately, but takes a few minutes of playing before I start to notice it. But then once it's there, it persists for a day or two, particularly the numbness. My initial worry was that it was caused by rancid oil - at the recommendation of the maker, I oil the bore with sweet almond oil every few weeks.

Having Googled the living daylights out of this, as well as getting in touch with the maker, I am re-assured to know that this (ie oil going rancid in a flute) does not seem to be a thing, whatever the arguments about whether oiling is necessary/desirable or not. However, in all this, I also haven't come across anyone else experiencing the same problem, which then worries me again.

The flute is played frequently, and dried off every time, so there is no oil residue on the surface of bore or the outer surface of the flute.

The problem comes and goes - I can go for weeks or months without it happening, and then it's back again - so I wonder if its appearance and disappearance could be related to changes in humidity.

Any help gratefully accepted, but I would particularly like to hear from someone else who has come across this, or at least heard tell of it.
jim stone