The flute and Irish history

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
PB+J
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

The flute and Irish history

Post by PB+J »

[Split off from the original Olwell flutes thread - Mod]

Francis O'Neill says the flute was extremely common in his childhood in Cork, from 1848-1865, when he left.

"No musical instrument was in such common use among the Irish peasantry as the flute. From the "penny whistle" to the keyed instrument in sections it was always deservedly popular, for unlike the fiddle and the bagpipe it involved no expense beyond the purchase price. Complete in itself, the flute needed but a wetting to be always in tune, and disjointed or whole could be carried about without display or inconvenience. Besides, if not broken by accident or design it would outlive its owner."

So if the cylindrical Boehm flute was not invented before 1847, the tin whistle into mass production around 1850? If flute playing was as common as O'Neill suggests then it was there must have been simple system flute available to "the peasantry" before 1847
Terry McGee
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: Olwell flute

Post by Terry McGee »

I think there are a lot of probable contributors to the cracking of lined sections of flutes. (We tend to think of these as the heads and barrels, but there were some periods when sockets further down the flute were also lined. They also cracked!)

Flutes made from inadequately seasoned timbers. (This was essentially a cottage industry cashing in on a raging fashion. Why would we expect due diligence?)