DIY and hole placement

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
phryas
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Beginner flute/whistle player looking for advice starting out. I have some musical background, but now with irish music.

DIY and hole placement

Post by phryas »

What follows is a set of very stupid questions. Thanks for your patience.

My backyard has a bunch of bamboo, and I had some culms cut for various projects. I tried my hand at making a 6 hole transverse flute. I want to the iotic flutomat for guidance on hole placement. http://iotic.com/flutomat.

I'm assuming the generator is based on a cylindrical bore, but if anyone wants to correct me please do!

Based on the length of the bamboo I tried entering D4 flute . Based on the inner diameter and the wall thickness, the flutomat tells me the spacing from 5th to 6th hole is 81mm, which seems insanely big to me. Is this because the values are based in cylindrical bore, and commonly irish flutes have conical bore and can compress the spacing?

However, look at Doug Tipple's page, he compares finger placement for various conical and cylindrical bore low D flutes (I assume low D is D4 in the flutomat, again, please correct if wrong).Typical spacing from 5th to 6th finger is around 37mm, even for large bore flutes, which is WAY, WAY smaller than the flutomat spacing for my bamboo project.

I must be missing something, why are the spacing values so much higher for my flutomat project? Based on Tipple's page this doesn't seem correct.

Thanks for any help,

James
Terry McGee
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: DIY and hole placement

Post by Terry McGee »