Innovations

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Damien Rogeau
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Hi. I'm Damien and I play the flute (Irish, Boehm, tin and low whistle). I'm also a piano player and more recently guitar and bagpipe player. Also I'm not a spam robot :)

Innovations

Post by Damien Rogeau »

Hi,

I'm studying wind instruments repairing at Itemm (Institut technologique européen des métiers de la musique) in Le Mans, France. For my last 2 years, I 'm asked to develop a project.

To give you an idea, last years' students did a vertical Boehm flute, an extended bass clarinet, a partially wooden trumpet, even an attempt to make a chromatic low whistle.

I already have some ideas and would love to work with the simple system flute (actually whistles could be interesting as well).

It's also better if my project meets de needs/requests of the flute community.

So, here comes my question: what would you do if you were me ? (Considering I have acces to lathes, tools and a lot of motivation).
Tin whistle (2013) : Tweaked Generation Bb, Tweaked Thomann C, Le Coant D, Löfgren D/C
Low whistle (2013) : MK pro low D, Clover whistles A/G/F, PVC A/A phrygian dominant
Irish flute (2014) : B.Gabos bamboo Eb, 6 keyed É.Juilleret

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/damien-rogeau-defrance/tracks
bigsciota

Re: Innovations

Post by bigsciota »

A vertical flute that plays like a standard Irish flute would probably be somewhat popular for people with various physical limitations. Obviously quenas are a thing, but I'm talking about something that plays and sounds like a Rudall- or Pratten-style conical bore simple system flute but that plays vertically. Someone's probably tried it at some point, no idea if anyone's been successful, but if you were actually looking to develop a product you might find a niche there.