3d Printed 6 key flute

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
rogervj
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I play guitar, flute and whistle. I fell in love with trad after visiting Ireland some years ago. I don't post much but I visit and read all the time.

3d Printed 6 key flute

Post by rogervj »

I just noticed this 3d printed 6 key flute at the Irish Flute Store: https://www.irishflutestore.com/collec ... rish-flute
Anyone try it yet?
PB+J
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Re: 3d Printed 6 key flute

Post by PB+J »

Casey Burns was very fired up about 3d resin printing a couple years ago--you can find the threads here. I don't know if hes given up on it or not.

I'm not opposed to idea in principle and would like to try one, Blayne didn't exactly do an extended demo of the one he has for sale...,
Andro
Tell us something.: Beginning flute and whistle player. Starting out seriously in Irish Traditional Music. Also interested in flute making.

Post by Andro »

I think it's fabulous. 3D printing is coming of age. Not sure I understand by Blaine suddenly slathers on the reverb for the Bach though. Somewhat strange. I'd buy the eight key model when it's ready for sure. [But no, I have not tried it, but I really support the concept.] There seem to be two here with two quite different embouchure cuts.

Indeed:

http://www.galeonwhistles.com/keyed-flutes/

[I hope it's allowed to post such a link here.]
Conical bore

Post by Conical bore »

This looks like a good way to try a keyed flute before investing in the fairly high cost of a more traditional one.