To Vent or Not To Vent....Eb

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
est
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Kind of a beginner with a keyless flute and an antique wooden flute with keys. Used to play accordion back some time ago, but trying to focus on the flute, until I can get some degree of command over it.

To Vent or Not To Vent....Eb

Post by est »

So, I have a nice 6 key wooden flute that I've been playing for a bit more than a year, focussing largely on playing Irish Traditional. I'm still learning to play the flute and have no teacher, so this is entirely me stumbling around in the dark :)

A few months back, I began putting serious effort into learning to play some Bach Sonatas, since they were forcing me to work on my 3rd register as well as really learn the keys. During an earlier post here at C&F, someone asked if I was venting the Eb, which I had not been doing. Adding that in has taken a lot of work, but really has made Bach much, much easier. But...what about my Irish playing?

I've been working fairly intensely on venting the Eb in my Irish tunes, but there are just some songs that are a real chore that get seriously muddled (think alterating between A / D and F#/ D....lots of Eb ups and downs in almost finger twisty fashion!)

I happened to have youtube playing a mix this afternoon, most of which was Irish tunes and Michael McGoldrick came up and I watched his fingers trying to decide if he was venting...and then I noticed his Eb key was actually opposite his fingers entirely! Then I searched for Shannon Heaton and it doesn't look like she is either (though, her Eb key certainly looked like she could use it if she needed it)...

So, I'm wondering if my efforts to iron out those wrinkles with some of the tougher spots is a waste of time and I should only worry about venting when I'm learning a tune that actually needs that Eb (such as Mr Bach's works).