Info on 'Klingson' Flute/Piccolo

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
rykirk
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am a piper and guitarist who has taken up the whistle and flute. Mostly interested in and playing Scottish baroque and trad.

Info on 'Klingson' Flute/Piccolo

Post by rykirk »

I just purchased a piccolo/fife online marked 'Klingson'. Hard to find much info about these. It is a one keyed piccolo or fife in ebony and the seller claimed it fingers like a baroque traverso. They said it came from a shop in the Netherlands and the shop told them it was new old stock and possibly dates to the 1950s.

It's in the mail now so I can't confirm anything else, but grateful for any info on this instrument or the brand.
rykirk
Tell us something.: I am a piper and guitarist who has taken up the whistle and flute. Mostly interested in and playing Scottish baroque and trad.

Re: Info on 'Klingson' Flute/Piccolo

Post by rykirk »

https://ibb.co/w7kxJ3v

Image is here.
Mr.Gumby

Post by Mr.Gumby »

A quick search throws up several entries for 'Klingson'-Hammerschmidt, flutes, clarinets etc. made in Bergau, Bavaria, by Karl Hammerschmidt.
Hammershcmidt-Klingson pride themselves on building the highest quality woodwind instruments and have been doing so since 1873, with each instrument being play tested, tuned and checked personally by a member of the Hammerschmidt family.
My brain hurts

rykirk

Post by rykirk »

Mr.Gumby wrote: Mon Oct 18, 2021 11:48 am A quick search throws up several entries for 'Klingson'-Hammerschmidt, flutes, clarinets etc. made in Bergau, Bavaria, by Karl Hammerschmidt.
Hammershcmidt-Klingson pride themselves on building the highest quality woodwind instruments and have been doing so since 1873, with each instrument being play tested, tuned and checked personally by a member of the Hammerschmidt family.