Tips on getting into the third octave

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Flotineer
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: New fluter. Recovering piper... What with one thing and another I’m learning the flute, but I’ve been learning Irish music for a while now.

Tips on getting into the third octave

Post by Flotineer »

Looking for some tips on getting into the third octave, please. Tighter embouchure, sure, but how do I do that?!? I can hit the 3rd D, but nothing above that…

I would appreciate any helpful tips that worked for you, no matter how idiosyncratic.
TxWhistler
Tell us something.: I have recently retired and have always wanted to learn to play a musical instrument. I'm leaning to play the whistle and now the flute.

Re: Tips on getting into the third octave

Post by TxWhistler »

I'm very new to playing the flute so take my following suggestions with a grain of salt. Some might consider it to be the blind leading the blind! :lol:

1) Are you using the fingerings suggested by the manufacturer of your flute? For my flute, if you number the holes as #1 is nearest the embouchure hole and #6 the farthest away, then for 3rd octave E you cover holes 1,2,4,5. For F# it's 1,3,4,6 and for G it's 1 and 3 only. Jem the flute has posted a sticky thread of fingering charts for various flutes. His thread is the 5th from the top in this flute forum.

2) I find that I can play up to 3rd octave G with the same embouchure tightness I need to get 3rd octave D. If I'm using a tighter embouchure, then I don't realize it. I do find that I need to blow more down into the hole than normal. This just may be my inexperience with playing the flute.

If some experienced players tell you something different, then listen to them!!!!!
Terry McGee
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Terry McGee »

The classic advice is to: