Flute Hold Right Hand Pinky

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
rykirk
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am a piper and guitarist who has taken up the whistle and flute. Mostly interested in and playing Scottish baroque and trad.

Flute Hold Right Hand Pinky

Post by rykirk »

I've been playing a keyless flute for about a year, coming from more experience on the whistle. Up to this point I've been playing with my righthand pinky down on the top of the flute. Now I have my first flute coming with an Eb pinky key and I'm realizing I may need to adjust my hold. Doing some historical reading and talking to traverso players also confirms my suspicion that this is going to be a problem.

I've been experimenting with the Rockstro grip this morning but I'm having a hard time keeping hold of the flute with all fingers off (C#). It's not so much that it wants to lever or fall, but it wants to roll and messes with my embouchure. I'm playing a smooth plastic flute and wonder if the slipperiness is a factor. Do people put a piece of tape down for their right hand thumb or anything or do I just need to keep practicing the hold? Any tips on transitioning to a new hold without losing a ton of progress? Any experience moving to a keyed flute or traverso from an unkeyed flute?
Terry McGee
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: Flute Hold Right Hand Pinky

Post by Terry McGee »