Casey Burns Flute

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
ripleywm
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: 50 something piper interested in whistles. I live in NE Georgia in the USA. I started in Florida about 30 years ago, but I have had several long hiatuses. I've been playing seriously for about 3 years now.

Casey Burns Flute

Post by ripleywm »

Greetings,

Scottish smallpiper and flute novice here. I recently bought a Casey Burns flute from a random Craigslist ad. I had my piping/whistle instructor check with one of her flute buddies before I bought it so I'm fairly confident it's a decent instrument, but I wouldn't mind some opinions from some folks who play these things all the time. Also, I'd be grateful for some direction towards care of this instrument.

Cheers,

budding flutist,

Bill

stiofan
Tell us something.: I've been a C&Fer since 2003. Currently playing wooden flute & (mainly low) whistles, along with the bowed dulcimer.

Re: Casey Burns Flute

Post by stiofan »

I've had a few CB folk flutes over the years, and now have an older (~circa. 2000) standard in blackwood, but w/o tuning slide or rings. I like the all-wood-edness of this one a lot (I also have a fully-lined flute w/slide by another maker) Casey's flutes are easy players with very forgiving embouchure cuts. Can't quite tell from the pic, but looks like it might have his ergonomic hole configuration, which a lot of people appreciate. Interesting grain pattern on that flute, at first glance thought it was cracked.
Here's his care instructions: https://caseyburnsflutes.com/flutecare.pdf
(oddly, not on the website any longer)
Enjoy!
Flutern
Tell us something.: I have a keen interest in wooden flutes (modern and antique), early music (Renaissance, Baroque), Romantic music and Irish Traditional Music of course! I also play the clarinet (my first instrument) and I've also started learning the cittern.