Provocation: Can you learn Flute in less than 5 years?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
tstermitz
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Provocation: Can you learn Flute in less than 5 years?

Post by tstermitz »

I played whistle ages ago but never got very good. Then started it up again 8 years ago with more focus. Five years ago I started learning flute and have barely touched the whistle since. What a joyful journey.

I finally feel like I'm getting somewhere with the flute; obviously, it is a lot more complex than the whistle, which is a great challenge. In particular, it takes a darn long while to develop embouchure and articulation.

Challenges:
Tone quality
High notes; low notes.
Embouchure consistency
Articulation speed.

I feel like I am starting to meet these challenges, but still have a long way to go before I can be a "real" musician. So, I ask whether it is possible to for someone to get really good on flute in 5 years, or maybe the question is, "How can one get good in 5 years?"

I can think of two situations where I've seen people learn remarkably quickly:
(1) Younger kids with flexible brains.
(2) A master musician coming from a different instrument.
Loren
Tell us something.: You just slip out the back, Jack
Make a new plan, Stan
You don't need to be coy, Roy
Just get yourself free
Hop on the bus, Gus
You don't need to discuss much
Just drop off the key, Lee
And get yourself free

Re: Provocation: Can you learn Flute in less than 5 years?

Post by Loren »

Depends on what you consider really good, but the answer is yes: IME one can become good at nearly anything in 5 years if one devotes oneself to it with sufficient focus, vigor, and quality tutelage.
bigsciota

Post by bigsciota »