Another newbie flute question.....

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
TxWhistler
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I have recently retired and have always wanted to learn to play a musical instrument. I'm leaning to play the whistle and now the flute.

Another newbie flute question.....

Post by TxWhistler »

Since I am new to playing the flute I have no idea whether what is happening is normal or a sign that I'm doing something wrong.

After about 20 minutes of playing I am finding that the condensate from my breath in the headpiece will occasionally splatter up onto my lower lip as I'm playing the higher notes of the second octave.

Is this something that is normal and I just need to get used to it or does it indicate I am blowing either too hard or at an incorrect angle into the head piece?

My experience with whistles indicates that I am a "dry" whistler. I can play for long periods of time without clogging concerns so I don't thing the problem is that I'm a "wet" flute blower but I'm open to hear what you all have to say.

Any suggestions (if necessary) for corrective action would be appreciated on my part.

Thanks!
Jayhawk
Tell us something.: Well, just trying to update my avatar after a decade. Hope this counts! Ok, so apparently I must babble on longer.

Re: Another newbie flute question.....

Post by Jayhawk »

Condensation is always worse when it's cooler, so what's the weather been like in your neck of the woods?

I also think it's common for newer flute players to be wetter players until your embouchure improves. It's not uncommon to over-blow, especially in the upper octave, and that can increase the condensation level a bit.

Just blow it out, give the flute a shake, and move on.

Eric
TxWhistler
Tell us something.: I have recently retired and have always wanted to learn to play a musical instrument. I'm leaning to play the whistle and now the flute.