Basic flute care question from a beginner

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
TxWhistler
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I have recently retired and have always wanted to learn to play a musical instrument. I'm leaning to play the whistle and now the flute.

Basic flute care question from a beginner

Post by TxWhistler »

I am new to flute playing (4 weeks total). A couple of weeks ago I got an 8 key antique wooden flute. I am thoroughly enjoying learning to play it.

I've been able to use the search function here and find out good information on oiling the flute but there are some things I've not been able to find answers to.

When playing multiple practice sessions during the same day do you swab it dry each time when finished playing that practice session?

Do you leave it disassembled or do you re-assemble it each time?

Overnight do you leave it assembled or do you dis-assemble it each time?

I do not have a case for it. It will either sit on a shelf or with the whistles in a whistle rack I built for them.

Thanks in advance for any help you all can provide.
Latticino

Re: Basic flute care question from a beginner

Post by Latticino »

Welcome to the challenging world of antique flute care. I can tell you what I do, and hope that my method works for you.