How does olivewood hold up?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Pipa
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am a beginner looking into the Irish flute. I would like to post a WTB ad for a Casey Burns small hand folk flute since they are not made any more.

How does olivewood hold up?

Post by Pipa »

I will probably bow to common sense and buy my first flute from a conventional tonewood, but I am extremely concerned with weight and ergonomics due to my injury history and I can’t help being intrigued by olivewood flutes. I’ve read the previous threads here on olivewood instruments (mostly whistles and pipe chanters), and I am wondering if there are enough olivewood flutes out there that people have seen how well they hold up with proper maintenance, and if any difference has been seen between European and African sources.
Steve Bliven

Re: How does olivewood hold up?

Post by Steve Bliven »

Pipa wrote: Tue May 04, 2021 1:18 pm I will probably bow to common sense and buy my first flute from a conventional tonewood, but I am extremely concerned with weight and ergonomics due to my injury history and I can’t help being intrigued by olivewood flutes. I’ve read the previous threads here on olivewood instruments (mostly whistles and pipe chanters), and I am wondering if there are enough olivewood flutes out there that people have seen how well they hold up with proper maintenance, and if any difference has been seen between European and African sources.
Can't speak to the difference between European and African sources, but I had a Bleazy olivewood flute for a couple of years. I saw no issues with the wood itself. Very nice playing, light, and visually attractive. My concern was with the maker's construction of the particular instrument. I note that Windward flutes uses olivewood a lot. That might be a place to check for their experiences.